Fermi National Laboratory

Volume 26  |  November 2003  |  Number 15
In This Issue  |  FermiNews Main Page


To purchase tickets for Arts and Lecture Series events, or for further information or telephone reservations, call 630-840-ARTS weekdays between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. Phone reservations are held for five working days, but will be released for sale if not paid for within that time. Will-Call tickets may be picked up, or available tickets purchased, at the lobby box office on the night of the performance beginning at 7 p.m. When coming to this event, only the Pine Street entrance to Fermilab will be open. For more information, check out our web page at www.fnal.gov/culture.

Scrap Arts Music
November 15, 2003
Tickets $22
($11 ages 18 and under)

"This is one fantastic visual and aural display of percussive precision full of energetic gymnastics and vibrant vitality. Original music expertly played and choreographed into a remarkable show."
- The Belfast Telegraph

Lab-Wide Party
November 21, 2003
Save the date: lab-wide party on Friday, November 21, from 3:30 to 6:30 p.m. in the Wilson Hall atrium. Details will be announced in the next few weeks.



  • Fermilab Employee Performance Recognition Awards to Brad Trygar, Deborah Griffin, Wei Gao, Cheryl McKenna, and Robert Willford for their roles in the in the lab's biggest accounting makeover, launching Oracle Project Accounting.
  • Fermilab Employee Performance Recognition Award to Cathy Newman-Holmes for coordinating the Lepton-Photon Symposium in August 2003.
  • Fermilab Employee Performance Recognition Award to Ron Moore and Keith Gollwitzer for their work as Run Coordinators; and to Jeff Spalding for preparing and implementing the Run II plan.
  • Fermilab Employee Performance Recognition Award to Duane Plant, for his role in the reclamation of water from the NuMI underground enclosures for use in laboratory operations.
  • The first 35-year service awards in lab history to Lincoln Read (ID 5), Barb Kristen (ID 59), and Carolyn Hines (ID 47).


  • As AAAS Fellows: Fermilab theoretical physicists Estia Eichten ("for landmark contributions to theoretical physics, including quarkonium bound states and heavy-quark symmetry, dynamical electroweak symmetry breaking, lattice QCD, and supercollider physics"), and Joe Lykken ("for imaginative and influential explorations of supersymmetry, string field theory, and the physics of extra dimensions and for inspiring others through teaching and public lectures"). AAAS named 348 Fellows this year.

  • last modified 11/5/2003   email Fermilab