Fermi National Laboratory

Volume 23  |  Friday, October 20, 2000  |  Number 18
In This Issue  |  FermiNews Main Page

Fermilab Award Winners

Janet Conrad

Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award

Awarded to physicist Janet M. Conrad, of Fermilab and Columbia University: The American Physical Society's 2001 Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award, "for her leadership in experimental neutrino physics, particularly for initiating and leading the NuTeV decay channel experiment and the Mini-BooNE neutrino oscillations experiment, which are noted for their timeliness and significance in resolving frontier issues in neutrino physics." The award was established through sponsorship in 1985 by the General Electric Foundation (now the GE Fund), "to recognize and enhance outstanding achievement by a woman physicist in the early years of her career, and to provide opportunities for her to present these achievements to others through public lectures in the spirit of Maria Goeppert-Mayer." Previous recipients: 2000--Sharon C. Glotzer; 1999--Andrea M. Ghez; 1998--Elizabeth J. Beise; 1997--Margaret Mary Murnane; 1996--Marjorie Ann Olmstead; 1995--Jacqueline N. Hewitt; 1994--Laura H. Greene; 1993--Ewine van Dishoeck; 1992--Barbara H. Cooper; 1991--Alice E. White; 1990--Ellen Williams; 1989--Cherry A. Murray; 1988--Bonny L. Schumaker; 1987--Louise A. Dolan; 1986--Judith S. Young.
Paul Grannis

W.K.H. Panofsky Prize

Awarded to physicist Paul J. Grannis, of Fermilab and the State University of New York at Stony Brook: The 2001 W.K.H. Panofsky Prize, "for his distinguished leadership and vision in the conception, design, construction, and execution of the DZero experiment at the Fermilab Tevatron proton-antiproton collider. His many contributions have been decisive in all aspects of the experiment." The prize was awarded in 1990 to current Fermilab Director Michael Witherell; it went to Fermilab users Frank J. Sciulli in 1995, and Thomas J. Devlin and Lee G. Pondrom in 1994. The prize was established in 1985 by friends of W. K. H. Panofsky and the Division of Particles and Fields of the American Physical Society. Previous recipients: 2000-- Martin Breidenbach; 1999--Edward H. Thorndike; 1998--David Robert Nygren; 1997--Henning Schr–der and Yuri Zaitsev; 1996--Gail G. Hanson and Roy F. Schwitters; 1995--Frank J. Sciulli; 1994--Thomas J. Devlin and Lee G. Pondrom; 1993--Robert B. Palmer, Nicholas P. Samios, and Ralph P. Shutt; 1992--Raymond Davis, Jr. and Frederick Reines; 1991--Gerson Goldhaver and Francois Pierre; 1990--Michael S. Witherell; 1989--Henry W. Kendall, Richard E. Taylor, and Jerome I. Friedman; 1988--Charles Y. Prescott.

last modified 10/20/2000   email Fermilab