Fermilab Today Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Photos of the Day

2015 Fermilab Users Meeting

At the 48th annual Fermilab Users Meeting, the American Physical Society honored Fermilab by naming it a Historic Site. The occasion brought Fermilab Director Emeritus and Nobel laureate Leon Lederman to the laboratory from his Idaho home. Meeting attendees discussed the new LBNF/DUNE project, the laboratory's neutrino and muon programs, PIP-II plans and our astroparticle physics experiments.

(Click on a photo for a larger version)

Cynthia Sazama, Melody Saperston and Olivia de la O run the Users Meeting behind the scenes. Photo: Cindy Arnold The annual Fermilab Student and Postdoc Association New Perspectives poster session attracts early-career scientists to Fermilab projects. Photo: Cindy Arnold It's selfie time at the New Perspectives poster session. Photo: Cindy Arnold
The poster session always draws a crowd. Photo: Cindy Arnold Fermilab scientist Marcelle Soares-Santos introduces the first session of the first day. Photo: Reidar Hahn Users Executive Committee co-chair Bill Louis of Los Alamos National Laboratory welcomes attendees to the meeting. Photo: Reidar Hahn
How is Fermilab doing so far with P5 strategy alignment? Fermilab Deputy Director Joe Lykken has the answers. Photo: Reidar Hahn Fermilab scientist Mary Convery updates Fermilab users on the status of the accelerator complex upgrades. Photo: Reidar Hahn Charlie Cooper describes plans for the Illinois Accelerator Research Center. Photo: Reidar Hahn
The future of future colliders is an exciting one, and Fermilab's Dmitri Denisov told users all about it. Photo: Reidar Hahn Fermilab Director Nigel Lockyer, American Physical Society Historic Site Committee Chair Katharine Gebbie and APS Vice President Laura Greene stand by the new plaque that declares Fermilab an APS Historic Site. Photo: Reidar Hahn Fermilab recently kicked off the DUNE/LBNF project. Laura Fields of Northwestern University talks about the Deep Underground Neutrino Facility. Photo: Reidar Hahn
Elaine McCluskey gives attendees an overview of the future Long-Baseline Neutrino Facility. Photo: Reidar Hahn Employees and users enjoy dinner at the annual Users Meeting banquet. Photo: Cindy Arnold Leon Lederman goofs off with Fermilab staff. Photo: Reidar Hahn
Fermilab's second and third director, Leon Lederman (right) and John Peoples, greet each other. Photo: Reidar Hahn Sam McDermott receives the URA Thesis Award from Universities Research Association Executive Director Marta Cehelsky. Photo: Reidar Hahn Matthew Toups is the winner of this year's Tollestrup Award, presented to him by scientist Alvin Tollestrup and URA Executive Director Marta Cehelsky. Photo: Reidar Hahn
Glen Crawford of the DOE Office of High Energy Physics gives the DOE report. Photo: Cindy Arnold James Shank of the National Science Foundation gives the NSF report. Photo: Cindy Arnold Fermilab Director Nigel Lockyer provides an overview of the progress Fermilab has seen over the last year. Photo: Cindy Arnold
Fermi National Accelerator - Office of Science / U.S. Department of Energy | Managed by Fermi Research Alliance, LLC.
Security, Privacy, Legal  |  Use of Cookies